Merging Duplicate Customer Profiles
Some customers will inadvertently create multiple accounts for themselves, and become confused when they login to account #2 and don’t see the tickets they purchased under account #1. In this case, the best thing to do is merge the accounts.
(If you click the “Dups” button in the customer navbar, you’ll see a list of records that Audience1st suspects might be duplicates, based on some simple rules about similarity. It’s a good idea to “groom” the database periodically by clicking the Dups button and merging duplicate accounts.)
To merge accounts, both customer names must be visible in the summary listing. For example, if you suspect customer Al Johns has duplicate entries, use the Search Any Field box in the customer navbar to search for “Al Johns”, and you’ll see a summary list of all records matching that search. Presumably, two of the matching records will be the two duplicate entries for Al Johns, possibly shown alongside Albert Jones, Alice Johnson, and so on.
To merge two customer accounts shown in the summary list:
Click the checkbox to the left of each customer’s name. (You can only merge two customers at a time. If there are more than two duplicate records for a customer, repeat this process for each pair.)
If you click “Manual Merge”, you’ll be shown the two customers’ contact info side-by-side in two columns; you decide which information to use in the merged record.
If you click “Auto Merge”, Audience1st will make these choices automatically by preferring the information belonging to the account that was accessed most recently.
All purchases, donations, and other activity from both accounts will be preserved in the merged account.
Audience1st doesn’t allow creating two accounts with the same email, so after a merge, the customer will only be able to login using the email and password that were retained during the merge. (Whichever email address you choose to retain in manual merge, the corresponding password is retained too.) You may need to communicate with the customer to remind them that only this single email address can now be used to login, although once they login they can always change their email or password to something else, as long as the email address is unique in the database.